FIFA World Cup 2022 Asian Qualifiers: India grouped in Group E

The Indian football team await their fate with the Asian qualifiers draw for the Fifa World Cup Qatar 2022 and AFC Asian Cup China 2023 set to be held in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday.

A total of 12 teams consisting of the eight group winners and the four best runners-up will advance to the final round of qualification for the 2022 World Cup and the 2023 Asian Cup


Seeding has been allocated on the latest FIFA rankings and 40 countries have been divided into five utensils, each with eight teams. India will begin its campaign at home against Oman on September 5, which will be followed by an away match against Qatar on September 10.

Commenting on the draw, India coach Igor Stimac said: โ€œIt will be an enormous challenge for your young team. We have been drawn into a very tough group.โ€

โ€œI will teach the team to respect the opposition, but when we step on to the pitch, we will do everything to win. That is the way I am going to prepare my team. We are just at the beginning of our journey. I hope that it will be a long one,โ€ he added.

The Indian Football Team will automatically seal a berth in the final round of qualifying if it finishes second in Group E, behind Qatar which is already assured a spot in the 2022 World Cup as the host.

Here are all group details:

Group A: China, Syria, Philippines, Maldives, Guam.
Group B: Australia, Jordan, Chinese Tapei, Kuati and Nepal.
Group C: Iran, Iraq, Bahrain, Hong Kong, Cambodia 
Group D: Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Palestine, Yemen, Singapore
Group E: Bangladesh, Oman, India, Afghanistan, Qatar  
Group F: Japan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Myanmar, Mongolia
Group G: UAE, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia
Group H: South Korea, Lebanon, DPR Korea, Turkmenistan, Sri Lanka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!